LMU Munich Physics Home

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Prestigious prize for LMU honorary professor

Professor Reinhard Genzel wins the 2012 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy

Munich, February 2, 2012

This year's Crafoord Prize in Astronomy goes to Professor Reinhard Genzel, director at the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics (Garching, Germany), honorary professor at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU Munich) and full professor of Physics at the University of California at Berkeley. Genzel shares the award with US researcher Andrea Ghez. The Crafoord Prize is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and is intended to promote international basic research in several disciplines, among them Astronomy.  In separate work, the two Crafoord Prize Laureates and their respective teams have found the most reliable evidence to date for the existence of a supermassive black hole at the center of the Milky Way. They achieved this by tracking the motions of stars circling the center of our home galaxy. Genzel will receive half of the total prize sum of approximately 600000 US dollar. The Crafoord Prize has been awarded annually since 1982, alternately to astronomers and mathematicians, geologists, and biologists with particular emphasis on ecology. For these sciences no Nobel Prizes are awarded. The two Crafoord Prize Laureates will receive their awards in April/May from King Carl Gustaf of Sweden.