LMU Munich Physics Home

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Scientific Centers

  • Excellence clusters

    The Faculty of Physics at LMU Munich is involved in one Graduate School and four so-called excellence clusters in the framework of the Germany-wide Excellence Initiative. more

  • Arnold Sommerfeld Center for Theoretical Physics (ASC)

    Das Gebäude in der Theresienstraße

    The Arnold Sommerfeld Center for Theoretical Physics is an international contact center for theoretical physics that offers scientists from all over the world and all fields of theoretical physics a forum where they can debate, share knowledge and collaborate. more

  • Center for NanoScience (CeNS)


    The Center for NanoScience is a facility at LMU Munich for promoting interdisciplinary research and teaching in fields of natural science that study objects and functions on the nanometer scale. more

  • Laboratory for Extreme Photonics

    Logo LEX

    At the Laboratory for Extreme Photonics (LEX Photonics) physicists are working on the next generation of high-intensity lasers. more

  • Maier-Leibnitz Laboratory (MLL)


    The Maier-Leibnitz Laboratory (accelerator laboratory) is a joint facility of LMU Munich and the Technische Universität München. Several chairs in the Faculty of Physics operate the laboratory for atomic and particle physics. more